A national petition to have modify the provisions of article 12 (3c) of the Act Employment Insurance, unchanged since 1971, which provides a maximum of fifteen [15] weeks of benefits payable in case of illness, in order to be adapted to today’s reality.

In Canada, it does touch all of us, directly or a close one, not matter province, religion, color and politic allegiances.

Contribute to a better future, our future…
Please, sign the petition.
Thank you!             

Marie-Hélène Dubé

Why a petition is needed?

A national petition to have modify the provisions of article 12 (3c) of the Act Employment Insurance, unchanged since 1971, which provides a maximum of fifteen [15] weeks of benefits payable in case of illness.

According to statistics, 1 person out of 2 will be touched by a cancer; others will be affected by a serious illness or a potential accident. Each one of us or one of our close relations is likely to have to face this reality with its current life.

To an already disastrous situation, will be added financial problems which will put the individuals and their family in situation of economic precariousness… a real poverty. Not everyone has access to a generous insurance plan with their employer, or to serious disease insurance. It goes without saying that this cause thus touches all Canadian, directly or one of their close relations.

Until now, more than 430.000 people have signed and mailed this petition which cannot be completed online. This petition still active and has been supported by representatives of the [4] four political parties in the country. However the government, via the Parliament, did not modify yet this legislation which makes of Canada (except the United States) the country of the G8 which offers the worst cover in case of unemployment associated with serious illnesses.

To improve this legislation and to have it adapted to today’s reality, we have to get involve now.

And you did you signed?

Thank you to support the cause initiated by Marie-Helene Dubé and to contribute to a better future, our future…


Download the petition
Marie-Hélène is this Quebec woman, who has after experiencing her third thyroid cancer recurrence, decided to initiate a petition to change a 40 years old law (1971) (www.petitionassuranceemploi.com). Indeed, according to existing by laws article 12(3) on Employment Insurance (EI), any person confronted with a catastrophic disease can only received 15 weeks of coverage.

Zosia Ettenberg from Vancouver is joining her voice to the Employment Insurance Petition after having initiated a similar petition herself. A certain Carlo Pellizzari http://news.ca.msn.com/top-stories/cancer-patients-lose-ei-during-treatment-1 from Vancouver is facing blood cancer called anaplastic large cell lymphoma, experiencing a similar financial challenge as Marie-Helene Dube. At 26 years, He is forcing to move back with his parents… 15 weeks; it is not enough any more in 2011. Please sign the petition for a better future, our future. Help these people to bridge over this period of their life in order to concentrate on their health, to keep their dignity and to become an active citizen again.

Une pétition nationale pour faire modifier les dispositions de l’article 12(3c) sur la loi de l’Assurance-Emploi, inchangée depuis 1971, prévoyant un nombre maximal de quinze [15] semaines de prestations payables en cas de maladie, afin qu’elle soit mieux adaptée à la réalité d’aujourd’hui.

Au Canada, ça nous touche tous de près ou de loin peu importe la province, la religion, la couleur et les allégeances politiques.

Contribuez à faire changer les choses pour l’avenir, notre avenir…
SVP, Signez la pétition.
Merci!             

Marie-Hélène Dubé

Pourquoi une pétition?

Cette pétition demande au gouvernement fédéral d’amender la loi de l’Assurance-Emploi, vieille de 40 ans (1971), afin que les personnes atteintes de maladies graves puissent recevoir plus de 15 semaines de prestations comme c’est actuellement le cas.

Selon les statistiques, 1 personne sur 2 sera touchée par un cancer; d'autres seront affectées par une maladie grave ou un potentiel accident.  Chacun de nous ou un de nos proches risquent d'avoir à affronter cette réalité au courant de sa vie. 

À une situation déjà désastreuse, viendront s'ajouter des problèmes financiers qui mettront  les individus et leur famille en situation de précarité économique, voir d’une réelle pauvreté. Tous n’ont pas accès à un généreux plan d’assurances de leur employeur, ou encore à une assurance maladies-graves. Il va sans dire que cette cause touche donc tous les québécois et canadiens, soit directement ou un de leur proches.

Jusqu’à maintenant, plus de 430 000 personnes ont signé et posté cette pétition qui ne peut être complétée par voie électronique. Cette pétition, toujours active, a été appuyée par des représentants des quatre grands partis politiques au pays.  Cependant le gouvernement, par l'entremise du Parlement, n’a pas encore modifié cette législation qui fait du Canada (hormis les États-Unis) le  pays du G8  qui offre la pire couverture en cas d`arrêt de travail associé à des maladies graves.

Pour améliorer cette législation et l'adapter aux réalités d'aujourd'hui,  il faut s'impliquer dès maintenant.

Et vous, avez-vous signé?

Merci de supporter la cause entreprise par Marie-Hélène Dubé et ainsi contribuer à faire changer les choses pour l’avenir, notre avenir…

Boisvert Kis Blainville Réadaptation Universelle
Valeo Pharma Alepin Gauthier
Sylvie Côté Xprtiz
Savard Joe



Télécharger la pétition
Marie-Hélène Dubé, québécoise, qui à la suite d’une 3e récidive d`un cancer de la thyroïde, a décidé d’initier la pétition nationale de l’assurance-Emploi. Cette pétition demande au gouvernement fédéral d’amender l’article de loi 12(3), vieille de 40 ans (1971), sur l’Assurance-Emploi afin que les personnes atteintes de maladies graves puissent recevoir plus de quinze semaines de prestations comme c’est actuellement le cas.

Ce mouvement prend de l’ampleur, une certaine Zosia Ettenberg à Vancouver se rallie à la pétition Assurance Emploi après avoir elle-même initié une pétition similaire. Un certain Carlo Pellizzari également de Vancouver, atteint du cancer de lymphome, fait face à une situation financière similaire à celle de Marie-Hélène Dubé. À 26 ans, il se voit forcer de retourner vivre chez ses parents… 15 semaines en 2011, ce n’est tout simplement plus suffisant. S.V.P., signer la pétition pour un avenir meilleur, notre avenir. Aidons les gens à obtenir le pont leur permettant de se concentrer sur leur santé, de garder leur dignité et de retrouver leur place de citoyen actif.